#YesAllWomen

I’ve come across the twitter movement #yesAllWomen, which then let me to the #NotAllMen. I completely agree with the #NotAllMen movement, except for one thing:
Not all men may be monsters, but all women in every City, Town, and village in the world has been harassed, or have feared their safety in the presence of men. All women have their self worth tied into the way they look. All women, have been taught that “if you don’t you are a prude, but if you do, you are a slut. -Breakfast Club (1985)

All women have the thought when walking through a parking garage at night that the man walking X amount of feet away, could silently progress and be behind her in X amount of seconds. So she glances over her shoulder every few moments until she is safely locked in her car. All women scan the room just to make sure she knows where the exits are if she needs them at a moments notice. When going to college, mothers and fathers are buying their set of fraternal twins two different things on their almost identical school lists. The female twin is getting pepper spray and rape whistles, while the male twin is getting condoms. We are taught to scream “Fire” instead of “Rape” because men are more likely to check on their belongings than to help a woman in a cry for help. 

YES, all women are taught not to walk down dark alleys. Instead of teaching men to respect women, women are taught to fear men. They should not be taught that she is someones mother/daughter/sister/friend/aunt. SHE IS SOMEONE and that is all that should need to be said. 

“We teach girls to shrink themselves, to make themselves smaller
We say to girls: “You can have ambition, but not too much
You should aim to be successful, but not too successful
Otherwise, you will threaten the man”
Because I am female, I am expected to aspire to marriage
I am expected to make my life choices
Always keeping in mind that marriage is the most important
Now, marriage can be a source of joy and love and mutual support
But why do we teach girls to aspire to marriage
And we don’t teach boys the same?
We raise girls to see each other as competitors
Not for jobs or for accomplishments, which I think can be a good thing
But for the attention of men
We teach girls that they cannot be sexual beings in the way that boys are
Feminist: a person who believes in the social
Political, and economic equality of the sexes” – Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (2013)

I say #YesAllWomen, because I am called names since I would rather be Celibate, and work on my career, my education and being a single mom, instead of sleeping with someone who looks my way. I have to apologize for not being interested. WE ALL APOLOGIZE “I’m sorry, but I’m not really interested” we. apologize. 

If your reaction to #YesAllWomen is #NotAllMen, congratulations, you are part of the problem. 

Leave a Reply

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

evoL =

Allies for equality.

Single Girl Problems

No, really. I'm fine... Do you have any vodka?

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

Michael Stark

Musings Aimed at Discourse

Sonsie's Basement

Feminism, music, India, gin

Exhale

"Though She Be But Little She is Fierce" - Shakespeare

